To protect your Villanova Account, Technology Services enables settings that define how long you can stay logged into an application or system via a browser without having to re-authenticate your identity. These settings are based on a variety of factors, one of which being if you are using a personal device with no Villanova IT controls.
We recognize that there may be situations in which having to re-authenticate would be a disruption, like in the middle of teaching or giving a presentation, or when having your smartphone out is not allowed, such as during a class or while taking a test. For an uninterrupted experience, we recommend taking the following steps before you begin that activity on a personal device.
- Sign out of your Villanova Account in the browser
- Close the entire browser (not just the window)
- Re-open the browser and navigate to MyNova
- Sign in to your Villanova Account (including MFA)
- Open the resource you need (e.g., Brightspace) to ensure you’re logged in
- Continue your activity on the device
FAQs
What factors impact my sign-in frequency?
There are currently four key factors that determine how often you need to re-authenticate your account and whether your sessions hold over on the browser after you’ve closed the window.
- Device type (e.g., Personal device with no IT controls vs. University-managed)
- Network type (e.g., Trusted VUMobile Network vs. non-trusted network)
- Role type (e.g., Employee vs. Non-Employee)
- Risk Level (e.g., No, Low, Medium, High)
If I'm using a personal device, how long will I stay signed in before I have to re-authenticate?
Your sign-in duration depends on your sign-in risk level, whether you are connected to a trusted network such as VUMobile, and whether you are an employee or non-employee.
| Factors |
Sign-in Frequency |
Browser Session Persists after Closing |
- Non-Registered Device
- Trusted VU Network
- Any Role
- No or Low Sign-in and User Risk
|
30 days |
Yes |
- Non-Registered Device
- Non-Trusted Network
- Non-Employee
- No or Low Sign-in and User Risk
|
15 days |
No |
- Non-Registered Device
- Non-Trusted Network
- Employee
- No or Low Sign-in and User Risk
|
3 days |
No |
- Any Device
- Any Network
- Any Role
- High Sign-in Risk, Medium Sign-in Risk, or Medium User Risk
|
Every time |
No |
- Any Device
- Any Network
- Any Role
- High User Risk
|
Blocked |
No |